Pro Bono Awards

Every year ELAP recognizes an attorney, firm, community partner and volunteer of the year for their pro bono work that advances justice in our community. Please join us in recognizing these pro bono champions.

View a recording of the award presentation here.

Pro Bono Attorney of the Year:

Vicente Omar Barraza of Barraza Law has been a consistent supporter of ELAP for many years, volunteering in our immigration legal clinics and conducting Know Your Rights Sessions. During COVID, Omar has stepped up even more so, by doing webinars in Spanish for Spanish-speaking participants. He is always available for questions, and his flexibility and dedication to the work is consistent and never-wavering.

Law Firm Partner of the Year:

Mary Sakaguchi and Kristilyn Reese of Sakaguchi Felbeck & Reese have been volunteers in ELAP family law clinics for years, and are always available to take a pro bono client referral or be a resource for the staff. Their firmwide commitment to pro bono service, ELAP and the clients is deserving of recognition.

Community Partner of the Year:

St. Matthews Lutheran Church has been a partner in providing services to the community for several years. When ELAP needed a base in SE King County they offered to set up a satellite office, they also provide space for a monthly legal clinic and a community gathering space for workshops, in addition to referring clients to ELAP to receive services, even during a pandemic.

Volunteer of the Year:

Cyndi Partin of Battleborn Investigations is a private investigator and process server that continuously offers her services to ELAP clients for free to help them achieve independence and safety.


Pro Bono Attorney of the Year- Dayna Ducey
Law Firm of the Year- Davidson Kilpatric & Krislock
Corporate Partner of the Year- T-Mobile USA
Volunteer of the Year- Deborah Peres
Lifetime Achievement Award- Judy Jennison


Volunteer Attorney of the Year- Jay Stratton
Law Firm of the Year- Peterson Russell Kelly, PLLC
Corporate Partner of the Year – Costco Wholesale
Volunteer of the Year- Brad Moore
Lifetime Achievement Award- Mary Hammerly